A Torch Against the Night

57b3624e06ca8-image

Read on: 09/09/2016

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.5/5

“Failure doesn’t define you. It’s what you do after you fail that determines whether you are a leader or a waste of perfectly good air.”

A Torch Against the Night is a well-written, action-packed precious goodie. But it has its downsides. At times I found myself confused and overwhelmed by so much action. I love action but when it happens simultaneously in all three POVs my brain can short-circuit. My bad I guess. On the other hand, there were moments when things happened very slowly. Especially in the first half of the book. After finishing it I understand why it was needed but it bothered me at the time.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I DIDN’T SEE IT COMING!!! Oh my god Keenan!! Or should I say Nightbringer? What a revelation! I’m glad Miss Tahir didn’t choose to make him (it?) an unfeeling antagonist. The fact that he can actually love someone who he plans to betray makes him scarier in my opinion. I believe Laia has hope that she can somehow change his mind. I hope she can’t or if she can then I want it to be too late. (Yes I might be masochist…)

In this sequel, we dig deeper into our main characters’ minds, especially Helene. Gens Aquilla plays a big role in this and in the hard decisions Helene has to make. I’m particularly interested in Livvy. She reminds me a lot of Helene, maybe a Helene before Blackcliff. I looking forward to seeing how they’ll plot their revenge.

While I’m conflicted about Marcus, he’s definitely a complex character, I hope the Bitch of Blackcliff has a painful death. I’m guessing she’ll die in the next book, stronger enemies await our heroes.

Tas is the most precious boy ever, I’ve decided to adopt him and claim him as my son and heir. I hope we get to see more of him in the sequels, he’s a strong little boy and his bond with Elias is beautiful. Three more things I want to say, Afya is badasss, Shaeva is a cinnamon roll and Harper is my new bae, along with his brother of course  😉 !

I’ve read people are not happy about it not being a duology. I don’t think Saaba Tahir was planning it to be one. Sometimes authors can’t get a contract for every book of the series right away because the publisher is not 100% confident it will be a success. Luckily for us it was and I’m glad she got the contract updated to include her next books too. Her story is compelling and even though it has similarities to other fantasy books, it stands out and brings something new to the table. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequels.

Maybe not as good as the first one, but it was hella awesome nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

