The Darkest Part of the Forest

the-darkest-part-of-the-forest-holly-black

Read on: 25/10/2015

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.5/5

“Once, there was a girl who vowed she would save everyone in the world, but forgot herself.”

Hazel is a badass main character, I love her! The ensemble of characters in this book is diverse and complex, I particularly liked Jack, we don’t really know where exactly his loyalties lie until almost the end.

I adore Black’s writing, it’s absolutely beautiful. This is my first Holly Black’s novel, I’d read only her Christmas short-story, and her ability to write a fantasy standalone is impressive. I’m so used to see fantasy trilogies and sagas that I automatically assume standalones will always lack some important parts of the story. Not true. The only thing I’d maybe like to read more about would be Night-Hazel because I don’t think it was clear enough to the reader whether at night she only did those terrible things because she was obliged to it or whether she enjoyed it and part of her even wanted to do it.

This is a dark fantasy fairytale-like book that I recommend to YA fantasy readers, it’s very engaging and beautifully written. I can’t wait to read The Coldest Girl in Town!

4 thoughts on “The Darkest Part of the Forest

Leave a Reply

