Crooked Kingdom

9781627792134

Read on: 02/10/2016

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.6/5

“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.”

This review is very hard to write, for a couple reasons. It’s the end of the Crow gang, no more adventures. And the second is that our Wolf of Fjerda died and I was not expecting it at all.

Reading this book was bittersweet, and although I might not agree with one of Leigh’s decisions, I loved every single bit of it. I don’t think it was as good as the first one. It was definitely more confusing, a lot more trouble, a lot more failures on the Gang’s part. But as always Kaz managed to turn things around and get away with everything he wanted.

My favourite parts of the book were, without a doubt, Jesper and Wylan’s scenes. Their banter was off the charts and they made me smile so much. Their relationship is so precious, I’m glad they finally sort it out.

I absolutely love the relationship between Nina and Inej. It’s so rare to find women in YA who respect each other and protect each other the way they do. I’m so glad Leigh didn’t make them rivals and bitchy towards each other.

I believe Leigh wanted to shock her readers. Matthews death was certainly unexpected and instead of killing the one most of us thought would die she decided to go for the one who nobody considered could die. Personally, I thought Kaz was going to die. Obviously, I wouldn’t want any of them to die but Kaz would be the obvious choice.

I really enjoy Bardugo’s writing, it is so beautiful and engaging. I forced myself to make the book last as long as I could. I’m really sad that I’ll have to wait a whole year to read her work again. I’m excited about her Wonder Woman book, but I wish I could get infinite Grisha books forever.

I can’t say this book was my favourite of the year, but it was one of my favourites and I say farewell to this duology with tears in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

