Ms. Marvel – Volume 1

10679701_10153038629024648_2178789754123282135_o

Read on: 06/10/2016

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.5/5

“There’s this ayah from the Quran that my dad always quotes when he sees something bad on TV. A fire or a flood or a bombing. “Whoever kills one person, it is as if he has killed all of mankind… And whoever saves one person, it is as if he has saved all of mankind.” When I was a little kid, that always made me feel better. Because no matter how bad things get there are always people who rush in to help. And according to my dad they are blessed.”

 

Can I say that I absolutely love Kamala? Cause I definitely do. She’s so quirky and refreshing. The diversity in this story is quite important and, although I don’t know a lot about Islamic culture – probably because I don’t – I thought they handled it pretty well without making it the main point of the story. She’s a girl like any other, except she has certain routines that I don’t have, but I’m sure a lot of people can relate to. Kamala fights for equality and often asks why her brother can do things that she’d never be allowed to. I think she’s a great role model and I believe this comic is quite important, we need more of diversity.

I see a lot of potential in this, I very much look forward to continuing the comics. The art is beautiful and the writing is done quite well. Can’t wait to buy the next volume!

Leave a Reply

