The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

the-unbecoming-of-mara-dyer

Read on: 13/09/2015

Rating: ★★★ 3.3/5

“Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.”

My biggest issue with this book was the main characters. I enjoyed the plot, it’s mysterious and you’re hooked from the very first pages, but I didn’t like the love interest and honestly the writing wasn’t that good.

I’ll proceed with my opinion on the characters and then talk about the plot.

On Noah:

Now, whoever believes Noah Shaw is the perfect boyfriend should seriously reconsider their standards. Besides not being perfect, which for me is much more interesting, although Mara keeps telling us otherwise, he’s an arrogant, controlling, patronising, obnoxious, pretentious asshole with a superiority complex.

Also, Noah’s fixation on Mara was creepy af! Like I was uncomfortable at first! Only when I realized why he was so fixated on getting closer to her did I managed to understand it. It still creeps me out how obsessive he is, though.

And I have plenty of examples of such behavior, so I’ll just list them here. [And I might resort to the use gifs to properly express my reaction to these excerpts.]

Noah placed his forefinger above my upper lip and his thumb below my bottom lip, and applied the slightest pressure, cutting me off. I felt lightheaded, and my eyelids might have fluttered closed. So embarrassing. I wanted to kill myself a little.
“Shut up,” he said quietly. “It doesn’t matter. Let’s just get her checked out, all right?”
I nodded feebly, my pulse galloping in my veins. Noah walked over to the passenger side and opened the car door for me. I climbed in.

I narrowed my eyes at him. “You’re evil.”
In response, Noah smiled, and raised his finger to gently tap the tip of my nose.
“And you’re mine,” he said, then walked away.

Noah grinned. “Glad you enjoyed it.” He glanced down at my clothes and nodded once. “You’ll do.”

“Hallelujah,” I said, smiling.
“What?”
“The song. I love this cover.”
“Really?” Noah looked obnoxiously surprised. “Doesn’t seem like your thing.”
“Oh? What’s my thing?”
“I had you pegged for a closeted pop fan.”
“Bite me.”
“If I must.”

Noah arched an eyebrow. “What are you smirking about, over there?”
“I’m more well-rounded than you.”
“Not possible. You’re American,” he said. “And if it is true, it’s only because you like crap.”

Alain stood, and fished for something in the pocket of his jeans, withdrawing a pen. “In case you get tired of friends,” he said, scrawling something on a napkin, “here’s my number.” He slid it over the surface of the table in my direction. Noah’s hand reached over my shoulder and took it.
Alain’s eyes narrowed at Noah. “She can make her own decisions.”
Noah stood still for a second, staring at him. Then he relaxed, and a spark of amusement lit his eyes. “Of course she can,” he said, and raised an eyebrow at me. “Well?”

I won’t even comment on this one because it’s laughable how ridiculous he’s acting.

The waiter appeared then, and Noah plucked the menu from my hands and handed it over, rushing off our order in Spanish. The waiter departed for the kitchen.
I shot him a dark look. “I hadn’t decided yet.”
“Trust me.”

I shook my head. “Why, Noah, do you know the word for vagina in every language?”
“Because I’m European, and therefore more cultured than you,”

Good thing I’m European then, I should learn how to say asshole in six languages too, in case I ever cross paths with a Noah Shaw.

“I’m picking you up tomorrow morning,” Noah said, as he brushed a strand of hair from my face and tucked it behind my ear. His touch felt like home.
I blinked hard, and shook my head to clear it. “But it’s out of your way.”
“And?”
“And Daniel has to drive to school anyway.”
“So?”
“So wh—”
Noah placed a finger on my lips. “Don’t. Don’t ask me why. It’s annoying. I want to. That’s it. That’s all. So let me.” Noah’s face was so close. So close.
Focus, Mara. “Everyone’s going to think that we’re together.”
“Let them,” he said as his eyes searched my face.
“But—”
“But nothing. I want them to think that.”

Excuse me but since when is it okay to dictate others decisions? I’m confused, did she even agree with it? Also, just because he wants people to think they’re together he can’t assume she wants that too.

“That’s what I get for defending your honor.”
I laughed. “That was not for me. That was you marking your territory,” I said. Noah opened his mouth to say something but I cut him off before he could. “So to speak,” I finished.

If a guy decided that he was entitled of beating the shit out of someone on the pretense of defending my honor I can guarantee you I’d be the one beating the shit out of him. What happened to being civilized and standing up to someone with words and not violence?

“Have you kissed many boys before?” he asked quietly.
His question brought my mind back into focus. I raised an eyebrow. “Boys? That’s an assumption.”
Noah laughed, the sound low and husky. “Girls, then?”
“No.”
“Not many girls? Or not many boys?”
“Neither,” I said. Let him make of that what he would.
“How many?”
“Why—”
“I am taking away that word. You are no longer allowed to use it. How many?”

First of all, like you have any right to demand such information, and second,

On Mara:

I think Mara is a girl that went through a lot and this paranormal shit just makes her life even harder. I’m glad she has her family by her side because she definitely needs it. I like her most days, but it’s frustrating to see her lacking will power around Noah. She keeps saying that she hates him and she won’t let him mess with her. Guess what happens? She’s like a bowl of noodles around him, she has no backbone and he pushes her around and treats her like he owns her!!!

I wanted to take it and I wanted to spit in Anna’s face and I wanted to kiss him and I wanted to knee Aiden Davis in the groin. Civilization won out, and I willed each individual nerve to respond to the signal I sent with my brain and placed my fingers in his. A current traveled from my fingertips through to the hollow where my stomach used to be.
And just like that, I was completely, utterly, and entirely,
His.

For fuck sake! So he’s good-looking and flirty, has a cute accent and an amazing smile. So what? Does it give him the right to control you and mess with your head? Hell no.

Morales spoke in a calm, cold voice. “You may sit down, Meez Dee-er.”
“I’m not finished.” I couldn’t believe I actually said it. For a second, my legs threatened to bolt to the nearest desk. But as Morales quickly lost her composure, a juicy thrill coursed through my veins. I couldn’t resist. “In 1519 he founded Panama City. He was part of the agreement with Francisco Pizarro and Diego de Almagro that allowed the discovery of Peru.” Suck it, Morales.
“Sit down, Meez Dee-er.” Morales began to huff and puff, strongly resembling a cartoon character. In thirty seconds, smoke would start radiating from her ears.
“I’m not finished,” I said again, delighted by my own audacity. “In the same year, Pedro de los Ríos took over as governor of Panama. Dávila then died at the age of ninety-one in 1531.”
“Sit down!” she screamed.
But I was invincible. “Dávila is remembered as a cruel man and as a liar.” I emphasized each adjective and stared hard at Morales, watching the veins in her forehead threaten to explode. Her corded neck turned purple.
“Get out of my classroom.” Her voice was quiet and furious. “Senor Coardes, “you are next.” Morales half-turned in the too-small chair and nodded at a freckled, openmouthed classmate.
“I’m not finished,” I heard myself say. I was almost bouncing with energy. The room itself seemed sharp and alive. I heard the footfalls of individual ants scurrying to and from a prize piece of gum stuck to a bookshelf on my left. I smelled the sweat that trickled down the side of Morales’s face. I saw the individual dreadlocks fall in slow motion over Jamie’s face as he planted his forehead on his desk.
“GET OUT OF MY CLASSROOM!” Morales bellowed, stunning me with the force of it as she rose from her chair, knocking over the desk.
At that point, I could hold it in no longer. A smug smile lit up my face and I sauntered out of the room.
To the sound of applause.

WHAT THE FUCK WAS THIS?! Am I supposed to cheer and claim this as badassery? Because it was downright disrespectful. I would understand if she tried to calmly argue on her own behalf, but completely ignoring a teacher’s order, that’s just disrespectful and stupid. Was she expecting to get an A after that brilliantly stupid performance? Because if she hadn’t been stupid she could have taken the case to the principal and sort it out with him.

On Jamie:

Why did he suddenly disappear? I want a spin-off of Jamie because he was my favorite character and he deserves to be happy!!! I absolutely loved his snark, it’s off the charts. I wish we could have more Jamie in the book and if he’s not in book 2 I’ll be so freaking disappointed!!

On Daniel and Joseph:

On Jude:

I think this gif will sum up my feelings toward Jude beautifully.

On the plot twist/cliffhanger:

I THOUGHT HE WAS DEAD!!! I THOUGHT SHE WAS HALLUCINATING WTF!!!?!

On the paranormal powers:

I’m excited, I want to know what exactly Mara and Noah can do, if there are more like them and whether they have a mutation or something. However, sometimes all the hallucinations and nightmares get confusing.

I have this feeling that Daniel also has paranormal powers I don’t know why…

Overall this is more about the romantic relationship between Noah and Mara than the paranormal, but I’m curious about that part so I’ll keep reading. Hopefully, Noah will put the brakes on his assholery in the next installment.

Leave a Reply

