The Midnight Star

3f5777d25ca6dc32d8707503bb2a037f

Read on: 10/11/2016

Rating: ★★★★ 4.2/5

“You cannot harden your heart to the future just because of your past. You cannot use cruelty against yourself to justify cruelty to others.”

Adelina, Adelina, how I missed you girl.

I was excited for this one, the last book of one of my favourite YA fantasy trilogies and about one of my favourite female characters.It didn’t live up to my expectations, hence having a lower rate than the other two had, but I can’t say I didn’t like it either.

Marie Lu is such a great writer, I love her style and she’s a big influence in what I write. Although I did expect all the actions made by Adelina, I don’t think any of them were out of character, the book still felt unsatisfying in a way. Maybe it was the whole plot about them losing their powers, something I wasn’t sure how I felt about after the second book. Or maybe it just felt too rushed? I mean, it was only 316 pages, while the other two were slightly longer.

Adelina’s struggle with the voices slightly annoyed me. I felt, as readers, we didn’t need to read every few paragraphs how her voices were driving her nuts. I understand that it was a big part of her at that point and it influenced her actions and the way her powers acted at times, but I think it would have the same result even if it was mentioned less times.

The ending absolutely destroyed me, I knew it would happen when it got close to the last few chapters but it still left me in tears. I loved the way her death gave birth to a legend and how beautiful it was that Magiano would look for her. I shipped them in the second book and I did too in this one, however, I couldn’t stop myself from hoping she’d somehow end up with Teren as it was my first ship in the first book and they’re both my favourite characters, followed by Magiano and Raffaelle.

This book was bittersweet. Even though it didn’t feel as good as the previous ones did, it was so good to be back in Adelina’s twisted mind and read about the Elites. I’m sad it is over, but I definitely look forward to Marie Lu’s future books.

 

Leave a Reply

