Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

t5w

December 14th – Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

I opened this topic up to TV as well (which T5W is always open to by the way if you can’t think of book answers), but I think this topic is especially good for books and TV. What series started out strong but got increasingly worse with each book?

1. Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

Last year it was one of my favourite series ever, I managed to get over the fact that I didn’t like where she was heading as I read Heir of Fire but Queen of Shadows made its way into my hands and I couldn’t take it anymore. I can handle a lot of stuff, but not watching Chaol being made into a jerk to suit another ship. I haven’t read Empire of Storms yet, it’s on the shelf waiting. Maybe next year I’ll read it.

2. The Selection series by Kiera Cass

The main problem with this series was trying to prolong it for longer than it needed. The second book is unnecessary, the whole story could have been covered in one book, two maximum. I enjoyed The Heir more than the second and third book of the first part of the series, but it went downhill again with the last book.

3. The Wicked and the Divine by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie

I thought the first volume was okay, I liked the second better but then the third was a huge disappointment, making me giving up on the books altogether.

4. Burn for Burn trilogy by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

The last book was such a disappointment that I like to forget 80% of what happened in it. I remember loving the first two because they were so mysterious and surprising. I’m sad the trilogy ended the way it did because I quite liked the story.

5. The Young Elites trilogy by Marie Lu

I absolutely love the books but I have to admit that the story got worse as it went. The first book in the trilogy was so so good that I didn’t expect the next ones to be better. I did like them less, hence being in the list.

7 thoughts on “Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

Leave a Reply

