Three Dark Crowns

23207027

Read on: 16/01/2017

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.7/5

“Three dark queens
Are born in a glen,
Sweet little triplets
Will never be friends

Three dark sisters
All fair to be seen,
Two to devour
And one to be Queen”

Every time a queen gives birth, triplets are born. This is Arsinoe, Mirabella and Katherine’s time. They grew up together but were separated after a handful of years to be put under the tutelage of three different families who will train them and help them harness their powers. Naturalist, Elemental and Poisoner, respectively, they will have to fight each other for the crown when they hit sixteen. Only one can survive.

The book starts by introducing their lives separately. First we take a glimpse of Katherine’s, who is abused by Genevieve (sister of the head of the Arron family). She’s a petite girl who can’t seem to make her power come to surface no matter how many times she gets poisoned in order to strengthen her. She’s a nice girl and a people pleaser, afraid of failing the Arron family.

Then we have Arsinoe. A tomboy with a taste for trouble and freedom. Her closest friend is Jules, who is an important character in the book, there are probably more chapters in her POV than Arsinoe’s. Jules is a very strong naturalist who has a mountain lion as a familiar. Arsinoe, on the other hand, can’t seem to find hers no matter how hard she tries, which leads her to start practicing low magic, blood magic.

Mirabella is the strongest of the sisters. Born to be the Queen according to most of the citizens of the Island, Mirabella is a protégé of the Temple and the High Priestess Luca, who, even though ought to refrain from showing any favouritism, publicly supports the Elemental Princess. However, Mirabella starts showing hesitance as her birthday gets nearer, memories of her time with her sisters trouble her and she is afraid of hurting them.

At first I couldn’t choose which sister I preferred, they are all so different, but as I read more and more I reached a point I refused to support Mirabella anymore. I really like Arsinoe all the way through the book and her relationship with Billy, it was probably my favourite ship in the book, definitely the only healthy one! I like Katherine and although I was rooting for her, I preferred Arsinoe, but by the end I loved her because she’s so much stronger now. I really liked Jules and I’m 100% behind her back man, I’m rooting for her, I identify myself with her so much that some of her problems hit close home. I sincerely hope she kicks that cheater’s ass out of the way. And lastly, I love Peityr, even though he is sick!!!!

The one thing that I hated the most in the book was Joseph. He should have died in the shipwreck! He’s a sad excuse for a boyfriend and he should end up alone with no one to comfort him for the rest of his life.

The ending was a very much WTF moment! I was not expecting it even though there were clearly some hints. It was definitely a great ending and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I haven’t been this excited for a sequel since last year!

It seems everyone is split between loving this book or hating it. It was one of my favourite books that was released last year. It is a refreshing book in the fantasy YA genre and I very much look forward to the second book.

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns

Leave a Reply

