Favourite Non-Written Novels

t5w

February 15th: Favourite Non-Written Novels

This was a hard topic to name, but this is about all books that are not ‘written’ novels! So graphic novels, comics, manga, audiobooks, etc. Shed some light on books in other forms.

1. Dynasty Warriors (Musou Games)

I’ve been playing these games since I was a child. I know the Romance of the Three Kingdoms is a book but I feel that the games brought it to life for me (keep in mind I haven’t read the book yet, it’s huge). Not sure if this one counts but I’ll keep it here because when I started playing I didn’t know it was originally a book.

2. Ms. Marvel by Willow G. Wilson & Adrian Alphona

For years I had been trying to get into comics but it seemed that every character I was interested in already had so many comics and alternate storylines that I gave up. That is until I hear about the new Ms. Marvel. I was afraid I wouldn’t understand but it was so easy to dive into. I got hooked and excited. Reading about Kamala made me want to write my own superhero story.

3. Monstress by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda

This graphic novel tells a dark tale, which interested me. The art is breathtaking and the story quite intriguing. Although it might be slightly confusing at first, it’s definitely one of my favourite graphic novels out there.

4. The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

I’ve read this one recently and it made such an impact on me. I didn’t know much about Iranian culture and history or about Islam, as I’ve grown up, and lived, most of my life in a country with a small Muslim population. I’ve only met a Muslim person for the first time last year and, although I hadn’t had any contact with Islam before, I learnt about it in school and I’ve always been a very curious person so I knew some things about the religion. Anyway, back to the book, Persepolis is a memoir, the first I’ve read, and for someone like me who is interested in other cultures, it was a great way to learn about a rich country, its history and its people.

5. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

I seem to always include Nimona everywhere but I can’t help it. This story got me interested in reading more graphic novels. It’s quirky and fun and it’s fantasy, so it had to be a favourite of mine.

3 thoughts on “Favourite Non-Written Novels

Leave a Reply

