Graphic Novel Reviews

In the last two weeks, I’ve read five graphic novels so I decided to join their reviews in one post. Four of these were kindly given to me by the publishers through Netgalley. I own the last one.

Title: The Backstagers Vol 1

Author(s): James Tynion IV

Publisher: BOOM! Studios

Release date: 25/07/2017

Read on: 11/02/2017

Rating: ★★★★ 4.2/5

I read a small preview of what I think will be a very quirky and entertaining story. It’s not your ordinary high school drama club story. Sure, there are auditions and the popular kids who get all the main roles in plays and boss around the misfits. But these misfits are happy to be away from the spotlight and stay in the shadows. Right in the first volume we see these strange creatures that look like rats but seem to strangely be embraced by most of the group.

This is a story about high school kids, but you can expect to see a strange supernatural side to it too.

Title: Wonder Woman Vol 1: The Lies (Rebirth)

Author(s): Greg Rucka & Liam Sharp

Publisher: DC Comics

Release date: 28/02/2017

Read on: 10/02/2017

Rating: ★★★★ 4/5

This was the first time I’ve read a DC comic and although Wonder Woman is not my favourite DC hero/heroine, I was curious about her popularity and to know more about the character before the movie came out.

For those who have no clue who Wonder Woman is, this is a great place to start. There is a lot of Wonder Woman comics before this one, but I think a newbie can grasp the gist of it and is able to enjoy the story. I’m definitely continuing the series, Wonder Woman is an interesting character with an intriguing past. Definitely recommend.

Title: The Castoffs Vol 1

Author(s): MK Reed & Brian Smith & Molly Ostertag

Publisher: Lion Book Distributors

Release date: 12/04/2017

Read on: 10/02/2017

Rating: ★★★★ 4.3/5

The Castoffs reminded me a lot of Rat Queens, which I really like. The three protagonists are students at a academy for Mages (kind of like the X-Men academy) who belong to different groups and don’t get along before they’re put together for a mission outside. People have been losing memory after an odd woman is sighted in town. The group is sent to deliver memory potions but when they reach the town there is no one left but an injured man. Something is off with the man, and although not everyone in the group agrees, they follow him after curing him with a healing potion.

This was definitely my favourite graphic novel from Netgalley so far. It was fun and exciting. I’d highly recommend it to people who love fantasy and graphic novels.

Title: Heretics!

Author(s): Steven Nadler & Ben Nadler

Publisher: Princeton University Press

Release date: 20/06/2017

Read on: 10/02/2017

Rating: ★★★ 3/5

Herectics! is a very educational graphic novel about the seventeenth-century important thinkers like Descartes, Pascal, Voltaire and Newton. From philosophy to science, this book teaches you about the history of those areas and their development at that time in a fun and interesting way.

Although this is only a fun graphic novel to me now, I would have appreciated it a lot back when I was studying philosophy in high school. I’d definitely give it to my sister who is struggling with philosophy herself at the moment in high school.

Title: The Complete Persepolis

Author(s): Marjane Satrapi

Publisher: Pantheon

Release date: 30/10/2007

Read on: 03/02/2017

Rating: ★★★★★ 4.8/5

Definitely one of my favourite graphic novels, Persepolis is a memoir of the author about her days as a child and teenager, her struggles in a foreign country away from her family and how her freedom fighter family and their ideologies shaped her to become the adult she is at the end of the book.

This is an eye opener. Although I love reading about different cultures, I hadn’t read much about Iran before. Marjane’s art made it easier to read about such strong and brutal subjects like murder, political instability, racism, drugs and despair. I’m glad I finally read it and I highly recommend everyone else read it too.

4 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Reviews

Leave a Reply

