Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

t5w

February 22nd: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!

1. Lola and The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Last year I was in a major reading slump and this precious book got me out of it! Apparently, I need cute stories to get me back into reading.

2. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Baz and Simon are one of my favourite ships and their cuteness is off the scale. It’s only normal that this one would get me out of a slump within a few pages!

3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Since this is my favourite Fantasy YA, I believe this would be the non-contemporary/quirky book that would manage to get me back into reading.

4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Much like Lola, Lara Jean would definitely get my eyes glued to the pages. The story is so fun and crazy, it would be a pleasure to re-read it.

5. The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

My favourite trilogy ought to be part of this list. Although I rarely have reading slumps, I’m sure Jem, Will and Tessa would get me back into reading in a heartbeat.

 

12 thoughts on “Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

  1. salmahsbookshelf says:

    Great list! Six of Crows starts off very light and funny! It’s so easy to get into. I love Jenny Han and the Lara Jean books are some of my favorite but I had a hard time getting into them! However, once I did I read Book 1 & 2 over the course of two days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. battybibliophile says:

    I just started Six of Crows (finally)! Now I’m wishing I’d picked it up sooner, when I was in a slump, because I think it really would have helped pull me out. Carry On got me out of a slump last year and I think I’ll end up going back to it if I find myself in a slump again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thebrunettebookwormblog says:

    Great list! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have got to give Rainbow Rowell a go – I hear so many great things about her writing. And, I definitely agree with the Cassandra Clare suggestion. Her books are just so angsty – perfect for slumps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment